Golfer Login | Register



The Carolinas Welcomes EWGA for Championship Semi-Finals

Winners Advance to World's Largest Amateur Championship for Women

The EWGA ( will conduct its Carolinas Semi-Final Championship at Little River Golf Club in Carthage, North Carolina on July 14, 2012.

Amateur women golfers from North and South Carolina will compete during semi-final rounds to vie for a select few spots to advance to the EWGA Championship, the world's largest amateur championship for women.

The EWGA Championship series began this spring with regional qualifiers in 130 U.S. - based chapters of the organization, connecting current and aspiring business and professional women nationwide through golf.

Competitors from the Carolinas advanced to the semi-finals by taking home low net or gross honors at any of nine regional EWGA chapter qualifiers, held in Wilmington, Charlotte, Columbia, Greenville, Myrtle Beach, Piedmont Triad, Raleigh, Sandhills and Hampton Roads, Virginia.

The series includes both individual stroke play and team scramble divisions. Winners of the semi-finals will advance to the EWGA Championship at PGA National Resort & Spa, October 5-6.

"Every year, thousands of working women exchange their business suit for a golf shirt to compete in the championship series," says EWGA CEO and President Pam Swensen. "We're looking forward to see who from the Carolina region will advance to the finals in October."

Women with a USGA handicap of 40.4 or better can enter the stroke play event and will compete in one of five flights, determined by handicap. Both low gross and low net winners of this weekend's event advance to the national championship.

Scramble teams consist of four players; only one team member can have a handicap of 12 or under to enter. The team with the lowest aggregate score advances to the finals.

A complete list of semi-final sites and rules can be found at

More than 2,400 women amateur competitors among the EWGA's total roster of 14,000 current and aspiring business and professional women who play golf will compete in the EWGA National Championship series. Competitors must be a member of the EWGA, have a verifiable USGA handicap, and retain their amateur status according to the USGA rules of golf.

For more information about EWGA and membership, visit


Posted July 9, 2012 || Viewed 4,128 times

Get Social

facebook   twitter   pinterest   youtube  

Free Newsletter